2021 Virtual Conference Americas Zone Program

11:30 – 3:00pm (Note all times are EDT = UTC-4)


Theme: Designing for equity


11:30 – 12:00    ISDDE introduction to the Society and the Conference
(1630h CET, 1530h GMT, 10:30a CDT, 19:30a MDT, 8:30a PDT)

Welcome by:

  • Geoff Wake of University of Nottingham,
  • Christian Schunn of University of Pittsburgh, and
  • Lynne McClure of Cambridge Assessments

Special presentation to ISDDE prize winner, Joseph Krajcik of Michigan State University, will provide insight into his work in designing for effective learning in science education.


12:00 – 12:25 pm   Keynote presentation
Robert Berry, University of Virginia, USA.
Challenges for designers seeking racial equity and social justice in mathematics education
(17h CET, 16h GMT, 11a CDT, 10a MDT, 9a PDT)

Profile photo of Dr Robert BerryDr. Robert Berry
Robert Q. Berry III Ph.D. is the Samuel Braley Gray Professor of Mathematics Education, the Associate Dean of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the School of Education at the University of Virginia, and the immediate Past President of NCTM.  His research and teaching focuses on equity issues in mathematics education.


12:25 – 12:35 pm Discuss in breakout rooms
Discuss the presentation topic in breakout groups with other conference participants.


12:35 – 12:50 pm Moderated whole-group discussion
Moderated interactive conversation with Robert Berry based upon issues emerging in breakout rooms.


1:00 – 1:25 pm Panel and discussion
A montage presentation of short contributions from a panel of 5 educational designers from the field. Each panelist’s video is short inspiring presentation of how they have been designing for different aspects of equity.
(18h CET, 17h GMT, 12p CDT, 11a MDT, 10a PDT)

The panelists:

Xi “CiCi” Yu
Xi Yu is a High School Math Teacher in Cambridge Public Schools. She co-founded Play With Your Math and is starting to blog at DismantlingMathematics.com

Equitable engagement and community building strategies when webcams aren’t on
Since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic in the United States, many colleagues reported having trouble engaging with students who chose not to turn on their webcams for virtual class. Rather than mandate that students turn on their webcams, which opens up a slew of equity issues, I developed a collection of engagement and community-building strategies for virtual learning without the need for webcams. 

Profile photo of Eli LuberoffEli Luberoff
Eli Luberoff is the Founder and CEO of Desmos, Inc., a math technology company used by millions of students and teachers around the world. Before Desmos, Eli founded a tutoring software platform, and studied Math and Physics at Yale.

Equity in design product and designing processes
By repeatedly asking “what voices are missing?” and “who might this harm?”, we aim to build equitable products but also equitable structures inside and outside of our organization. This has led to updating our list of example mathematicians, building accessibility for vision-impaired and blind students, and building hiring processes that counter systemic bias in the tech industry. 

Profile photo of Dr Crystal MenziesDr. Crystal Menzies
Crystal Menzies is a Postdoctoral Research Associate at the Learning Research and Development Center, University of Pittsburgh, where she focuses on equity in mathematics instruction and instructional coaching. Her research and design work specializes in operationalizing Community Cultural Wealth in diverse educational contexts. 

Resolving the conflict in being culturally responsive across wildly varying cultural contexts
The presentation will describe design strategies that were used to insure maintaining high quality outcomes in a college access curriculum that was meant to be national in scope but culturally responsive in character across wildly varying cultural contexts. 

A photo of Dr Benjamin Dickman holding a bookDr. Benjamin Dickman
Benjamin Dickman received his Ph.D. in Mathematics Education from Columbia and was as a Postdoc at Boston University. Benjamin is currently a math teacher and teacher coach at a girls day school in New York City.  

Centering teaching tolerance social justice standards in an Algebra 2 course
A wide range of factors demand a rethinking of how mathematics courses are designed. I have incorporated the Teaching Tolerance Social Justice Standards into an Algebra 2 course while continuing to deepen student algebraic content knowledge. 

Profile photo of Dr Eve ManzDr. Eve Manz
Dr. Manz works closely with elementary teachers, instructional leaders, and interdisciplinary teams of researchers to develop new approaches to science teaching and learning that center student and teacher sense-making. Her work has been funded by the James S. McDonnell Foundation, the Kellogg Foundation, and an early career research grant from the National Science Foundation.

Elementary science units that integrate criticality and justice within full day curricula
I will describe curriculum units created by an interdisciplinary team that (1) honor the diverse perspectives and experiences children bring to science and engineering, (2) help them connect science and engineering to meaningful questions, projects, and products, and (3) foster attention to criticality and justice from the earliest years of schooling. 


1:25 – 1:50 pm Facilitated discussion among the Panelists
Participants can submit questions via chat for panelists to discuss.


2:00 – 2:50 pm Design with colleagues in breakout rooms
Work in small groups on possible solutions to current pressing design challenges posed by our panel.
(19h CET, 18h GMT, 1p CDT, 12p MDT, 11a PDT)

The options:

  • Assessing Participation—What are equitable approaches to encouraging, validating, and quantifying student participation?
  • Designing for Social Justice in Advanced Mathematics—How do we design lessons for Social Justice aimed for an advanced topic, such as the Fundamental Theorem of Algebra?
  • Centering Equity in Design Teams—How do get your whole design team to embrace (rather than reject) anti-racism strategies in the (re)design work?
  • Course Design—How can the four questions Benjamin Dickman proposed be applied for courses other than Algebra 2, and what new questions might be beneficial?


2:50 – 3:00pm   Wrap-up

A ‘live’ wrap-up in webinar mode. Join the world community of educational designers. Visit the presentations from the other times zones; highlights briefly summarized here. Join us at our next physical conference, which will include a full presentation by ISDDE prize winner Joseph Krajcik.

Return to conference overview >>>>