ISDDE 2022 Award Announced

The Trustees of the Bell Burkhardt Daro Shell Centre Trust are pleased to announce that Sofia Tancredi has been chosen as recipient of the 2022 Bell Burkhardt Daro Shell Centre Award for Aspiring Educational Designers in Science, Technology, Engineering or Mathematics. Sofia’s promise as a designer, shown, in particular, by her designs integrating sensory-seeking actions as a fundamental part of regular classroom mathematics learning, impressed the Awards Committee greatly, and they see considerable potential in her approach for supporting marginalized students. Congratulations to Sofia on her $1000 prize. For details of her work, please see

2020 ISDDE Prize

The International Society for Design and Development in Education (ISDDE) has awarded the prestigious Prize for Excellence in Educational Design to the value of $5,000 to Joseph Krajcik , Lappan-Phillips Professor of Science Education at Michigan State University, USA.  Professor Krajcik is an expert designer of instructional materials. He leads the CREATE for STEM Institute, a joint institute between the College of Natural Science and the College of Education at Michigan State and has been a pioneering leader in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) education for decades with his impact acknowledged globally

The 2020 Prize was presented to Professor Krajcik at ISDDE’s virtual conference in March 2021. Details about this unique event can be found here,

ISDDE gratefully acknowledges the Bell Burkhardt Daro Shell Centre Trust which funds the award.